Organization vs. Cleanliness: No They Are Not the Same

What’s messier right now — your bedroom or your computer’s desktop (or your favorite device’s home screen)? Tell us how and why it got to
that state.

So, I generally classify myself as an organizer. Give me a box and a variety of items and I will pack it as tight and full as possible, even if it means you can no longer lift said
packing box.

My iPhone is quite orderly; with apps I don’t use and can’t get rid of in an unused category, games in another, and other useful apps in a third etc. My main screen has my most utilitarian apps (grouped together with like apps) and changes only when I find a new utilitarian app. Half of the apps on my second screen are the ones I use most (favoritest games ever and look up stuff), and the other half is apps I’ve gotten but haven’t checked out and categorized yet. My third page is a few apps I really want and want to use but never find the time or forget I have or whatever but can’t bring myself to remove.

My computer desktop doesn’t change much either. I only rarely save anything straight to my desktop. It is less organized then my phone but still not too bad. It is mostly filled with program (and game) shortcuts and folders. I don’t usually click on the shortcuts but can’t bear to remove them because I don’t want to forget that I have that particular program.

Now for my room. Hehe. It is a mess. I tend to look for one thing under something else, move the something else onto a third pile, and forget to put it back as soon as I find the first one thing. Repeat two days later with the original something else now on the
third pile.

I will claim I don’t have enough room (which is a real problem) to have a place for each thing, but I really don’t like cleaning. I’m also notorious for piling my clothes. Like on the floor, on my bed, on my dirty clothes pile (not in the dirty clothes bag I have), in piles of “I can wear this another day”, in a pajama pile, in the “I’m too tired so I’ll just drop it right here where I took it off” pile, yeah.

But I am also one of those people who, despite it being messy in my room, I can still find what I’m looking for. I also don’t like things getting destroyed. So, like my pile of unorganized papers are all laid flat, my book piles are either vertical or horizontal, and I have a path from my door to my bed that never has clothes (or anything else) on it.

So to put it … Umm… more… shortly, I am organized but not a cleaner.

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, From Me to You and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

