Four Sounds of My Childhood

Recently I have been noticing certain sounds and songs that remind me of my childhood suddenly, ridiculously, and irrevocably. Here they are in no particular order (and I guess there is more than four).

  • 1a. The theme song for Agatha Christie’s Poirot
  • 1b. The theme song for Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple (BBC, 1984-1992)

(Both of these came about because my mom loves watching mysteries and I watch them with her)

  • 2a. Wind. (That’s another story)
  • 2b. Gravel crunching under bike tires.
  • 3a. The roster whistling in the beginning of Disney’s Robin Hood. (And most of the other songs as well)
  • 3b. All of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast
  • 3c. Spoon full of sugar and all of Mary Poppens
  • 3d. 101 Dalmatians intro (let’s just say my sister loved it but I ruined the VCR tape with repeats.)
  • 3e. Cinderella, Little Mermaid, AristoCats.

(I must apologize here to more dedicated fans of Disney, I did not see Lion King till I was like 16)

  • 4a. “…and thank you for being a recording books reader.” My mom and I loved listening to audio books from the library.
  • 4b. The Phantom Tollbooth (my sister was playing Crash Bandicoot when we listened to this one.)
  • 4c. Barbara Rosenblat. She read the Mrs. Pollyfax (and Amilia Peabody) stories
About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in From Me to You, Youth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

