It’s Been a Long Time

Finite Creatures:  At what age did you realize you were not immortal? How did you react to that discovery?

Hello little one. Welcome to this strange and wonderful place! How do I know? Because I have been here a long time.

Do not worry; this light that hurts your eyes now is not the best light. There is a more beautiful light called the sun. She may leave you for a while but she always comes back. I know because I watch her path carefully. In fact I have it memorized; so long I have watched it. What is long you ask? Well don’t worry about understanding it right now. It will come to you in time.

Ha. Time. You’ve had only a glimpse but I have watched too much pass by. Those who love me know that I am sick. Even those who do not care know that something is wrong. I am sorry little one; do not let my talk of sickness sadden your heart. Too young are you to know such sickness, though some like you have experienced it, which saddens my heart.

Those who love me have tried to make me better, but nothing can change what is passed. Passed you ask; my, what a big yawn. Yes passed. Some have called me ageless, others as old as time (though they disagree when that might be), and some believe I am immortal, despite my sickness. But in truth I only am a little younger than that beautiful light I told you about. I have watched civilizations rise and fall and I have helped to shape them.

But I will not last forever. Forever you ask, your eyelids drooping now. Yes it is a strange word, isn’t it. But my master is calling me, telling me my time is coming to a close. He will not tell me when that day will be, for that is not for me to know. Anyway, I do hope I get to know you better before I must leave.

Oh dear, my sweet little child, you have slipped so easily into the land of dreams, even before you get to glimpse my beautiful friend the sun. Oh well. You will wake again and meet her then. And surely you will receive your own name soon! Well, I will be silent for a time and let you sleep.

Oh, by the way little one, my name is Earth.

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Writings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Been a Long Time

  1. Swoosieque says:

    This is so creative and says quite poignantly what shape our Mother Earth is in – scary, eh? This is so gently and beautifully written! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

