Maybe a Little Odd for a Little Girl, A Little Cow

Imaginary Friend: Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today?

My imaginary friend … was a cow.
Not just any cow, but a particularly small cow.
Not even simply small, but microscopic (though I didn’t know that word back then), thus explaining his invisibility.

His name … was Little Cow.

I often traveled with him in my hand, because he was too small to keep up with me, though that didn’t stop him from being anywhere I went even when I wasn’t thinking of him. He could also jump incredible distances and heights (the floor to my elbow height hand or
bed ect.).

Little Cow and I played endless story games with, and without, my other stuffed animals, and we talked about everything. He was my constant.

So much so that one Sunday afternoon my family went out for pizza lunch after church. We had finished eating, left the building, and were mostly packed into the car when I “discovered” him missing and declared that I had left him in the restaurant. I meant it quite innocently, but my mom was … not interested in returning to our table with me to find something only I could see. Well my brother came to both my (and my mom’s) rescue by pulling his closed fist out of his pocket and saying “here he is! I didn’t forget him!” (or some such exclamation). I was appeased and we all went home.

I loved him very much. My mom had to buy me another cow (Cowa-Bella, she may have been a dog toy because she wasn’t very big and had a squeaker in her), and she even thoughtfully purchased some “cow beans” for me (they took forever to grow (in my young mind) but were really cool looking in the end).

As for Little Cow growing up with me, I don’t think so. There came a time when I left him behind, rather unconsciously, and that was probably for the best. But never have I lost the imagination that led me to live so many lives though my own stories **see About Me as an Adventurer**. He was a part of the learning and growing of my imagination, and now I write stories for you; and for me too. 😉

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe a Little Odd for a Little Girl, A Little Cow

  1. Pingback: Chrissy: Jen’s Imaginary Friend | 365 Days of Thank You

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Hand Made | AnnaMae Tollefson

Leave a Reply

