Second Hand Story – Sweethearts?

Second-Hand Stories

So I’ve heard this story a few times before but it was told yesterday so I think it counts.


It started this time with the question “well, were you high school sweethearts?”

No she said, then, well maybe. You see his sister over there [gesture to a lady a few seats over who is the same age] and I were good friends. Well, he would sometimes give us a ride home in his pickup, and, well, one day he told his sister [gesture] to make me sit in the middle. I didn’t want to sit in the middle but she ended up saying something like “well would you just hurry up and get in the pickup.” I did and, well, I guess that is sort of how it started…

Everyone laughs and the conversation continues into other avenues.


This is a true story about my parents, with my mom being the story teller. I may have connected some things for you, dear reader, and taken some words from my aunt’s telling. The story is also usually interrupted by exclamations, laughter, and questions (and others “helping” to tell it) so it isn’t told quite so concisely.

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Writings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

