Daily Prompt – Hand Made

By Hand

When I saw this prompt, at first I was like “hmmm, what have I gotten and cherished?” And then I was like “ooh, ooh ooh!” (Welcome Back Kotter clip)

Way back when I was four or five years old, my Aunt gave me a present for my birthday. It was a beautifully hand cross-stitched small wall hanging in a wood frame. At the time I didn’t appreciate it because it wasn’t a toy I could play with. I knew what cross-stitch was because my mom did it too, and she had tried to teach me and encourage me to take it up too. Anyway, between my mom’s insistence and my dad’s hammer, it got hung on the wall over my bed.

I did like it. It was of a girl and her cow (see why a cow in this post) and had a Bible verse in it too. Now the reason this gift is my most cherished hand made gift (as I’ve been writing I have thought about some others; two scarves in particular) is because it stayed over my bed from then on, until years later when I moved into my sister’s room, and then it lived propped up on top of my head board, and when, two or three years later, I moved back into my old room, it returned to its original nail, though my bed was now across the room, and I looked at it every day.

Then my family moved. Well sort of. We still own the old house and haven’t finished bringing everything over yet (we’re remodeled and added on but the work has come to a stall). My cow gift didn’t make it over for some time. It was earlier this year, when I perused though my stuff in my old room when I came across my cow gift. I happily brought it to the new place and promptly put it in a pile, not to be seen again till I cleaned my room. Well I did clean room, several times since then, and I decided, just a few short weeks ago, to take my own hammer and hang it over my bed again.

There it stays now, ever a reminder of my childhood and how a disappointing gift at the time can actually be the best gift of them all.

IMG_1040

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, From Me to You and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt – Hand Made

  1. Swoosieque says:

    Oh my gosh! I would treasure that forever and ever!! It is darling! And the best part of it is that it is filled with memories and made with pure love! OHHHhhh!! What a TREASURE!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swoosieque says:

    Ok, you have my ultimate praise! A 93 word sentence, and yes, I do count the words in parenthesis! You did a fabulous job and answered my question of whether or not such a long sentence would seem wordy or repetitive and yours is neither! It flows! Just like someone else had commented that the Masters (Poe and a some others) regularly wrote lengthy sentences. It’s good to see that the talent still goes on, you are a great example! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

