(Extra) Ordinary 

(c) 2015 AnnaMae Tollefson

(c) 2015 AnnaMae Tollefson

See original challenge post here: (Extra)ordinary Challenge

This is the doorknob that I have seen and used my entire life. It is in my grandparent’s house where I now live. You have be strong to turn it, and it tells you when you succeed by its own unique clunking sound. It’s old and rattles when you turn it. It always has.

Well maybe not always. You see, I think it was installed some 60 plus years ago when my grandfather remodeled the house. The house stayed the same for about 50 years until my grandparents moved out and we moved in. I remember other old doors that are gone now, their usefulness and frames lost to new and useful spaces. But this door remains, it’s station irreplaceable. I love the feel of the old metal knob in my hand and its consistent sound regardless of who turns it.

For the picture itself, I actually took it two days before the challenge started, and when I read the description I knew that this was the picture I would use. I was drawn to the contrast of metal on wood and the similarity of the colors.

I have also added below two edited versions that I really like. Which one is your favorite?

(c) 2015 AnnaMae Tollefson

(c) 2015 AnnaMae Tollefson

(c) 2015 AnnaMae Tollefson

(c) 2015 AnnaMae Tollefson

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in Pictures, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to (Extra) Ordinary 

  1. I like the second version of your photograph. The softness of the color seems appropriate to express the age of the knob.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yinglan says:

    I like them both. They just look so ordinary and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s antique. Isn’t it? I liked the version that you used. The colors tell it was after the Sun set and may be it was quiet all around. It’s telling me a story by that click of sound. Great post and use of the picture.
    Stopping by from Daily Post Photo Challenge page – http://happinessandfood.com/you-decide-ordinary-or-extraordinary/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sabiscuit says:

    It is a gorgeous door knob. Hope you’ll enjoy many more happy years turning it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. honestme363 says:

    Black and white for me ☺ I like the shading it brings out in the blinds too. Loved the story that went along with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

