11-’15 Day 6- Winter is Coming

October 27th is the day I first smelled winter coming.

It’s been one of those days. I only wanted to accomplish one thing but little things, and big ones to, kept coming up. The day started with me hitting the snooze button one too many times. My bed was too warm, and my room was too cold. We’re having a few heating problems.

Finally, unable to ignore the time, I ooz out of bed and stumble down the cold hall way to the cold shower area. At least the water heater is still working. Afterward I get dressed and eat a fast breakfast. I throw on my coat and run out to my car and am pleasantly surprised to find no frost on it, like the last three mornings.

At lunch it warmed up to a comfortable “coat not needed” temperature. But, as I said, the day wasn’t going my way. It wasn’t running against me, but it wasn’t expected. I ended up staying a little late to work on that thing I wanted to accomplish. It was as I stepped out of the building; a gentle warm breeze ruffles my hair, but it carries on it a scent like opening a freezer door and everything inside is stale. It means cold nights are looming, and I thought to myself “yep, winter is coming.”


And it did, on November 5th.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About AnnaMae Tollefson

I am a 22 year-old, rural Minnesota resident. I love music, singing, design, and writing.
This entry was posted in From Me to You, NaBloPoMo Nov. 2015, Pictures, Writings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 11-’15 Day 6- Winter is Coming

  1. Pingback: 11-’15 Day 8- Week One Done | AnnaMae Tollefson

Leave a Reply

